NAOC/ISM Spring Science Forum 2020

Pulsars and ISM in the Milky Way and Beyond

With emphasis on Early Science with FAST

About the NAOC/ISM Spring Science Forum:

The NAOC’s ISM group is pleased to announce the 2020 NAOC/ISM Spring Science Forum, which will take place at the NAOC campus on Friday, April 24 from 9:30 AM to 5:00 PM, Beijing Standard Time. Oral presentations will be delivered in room A601 and streamed online. The online e-posters will be presented on the Forum website.

The Forum will allow the ISM group’s postdocs, junior faculty members, selected senior graduate students, and invited speakers to give formal oral presentation about their recent work. Advanced graduate students will also be presenting e-posters on their research. This forum will be open to the NAOC community and invited outside researchers and scientists to attend.

Due to logistical constraints imposed by COVID-19, the Forum will take place primarily online using Zoom, including both presenters and audience.



All registration deadlines have passed. Look forward to our next forum!


pdf version downloadable here

Time Speaker Title Note
09:30 – 09:40 Prof. Suijian Xue (Deputy Director) Forum Opening Remarks
Morning Oral Presentation Section #1
(Chair: Dr. Ningyu Tang)
09:40 – 10:10 Eswaraiah Chakali Investigating the importance of magnetic fields in low- and high-mass star forming cores
10:10 – 10:40 Sean E. Lake An Exploration of How Training Set Composition Bias in Machine Learning Affects Identifying Rare Objects
10:40 – 11:10 Tao-Chung Ching Fast Observations of the HI Narrow Self-absorption Zeeman Effect
11:10 – 11:20
Morning Oral Presentation Section #2
(Chair: Dr. Hui Shi)
11:20 – 11:50 Chenhui Niu The new FRBs found in FAST drift scan
11:50 – 12:20 Mengyao Xue Southern Pulsar Census and Polarimetric Studies with the MWA
12:20 – 12:50 Jumei Yao Interstellar scintillation and 3D spin-velocity alignment in the PSR J0538+2817/SNR S147 system
12:50 – 13:00
Poster Briefing Section
(Chair: Dr. Zhiyuan Ren)
13:00 – 13:20 Di Li From Carl Sagan to Kardashev
Lei Zhang A Joint Study with FAST and Parkes for PSR J1926-0652
Long-Fei Chen Complex Organic Molecules Formation on Stochastically Heated Grains in Prestellar Cores
Hongfeng Wang Radio Frequency Interference Mitigation using Pseudoinverse Learning AutoEncoders
Shen Wang A Recipe for Deriving Kinetic Temperature from Ammonia Inversion Lines
Yan Duan A Study of the Co-existence of Outflow and Bubble
Chao Zhang The Filament Intersections and Cold Dense Cores in Orion A North
13:20 – 14:20
Lunch Break
Afternoon Oral Presentation Section
(Chair: Dr. Tao-Chung Ching)
14:20 – 14:50 Jing Tang The potential of detecting radio-flaring ultracool dwarfs at L band in the FAST Drift-Scan Survey
14:50 – 15:20 Kai Zhang The prediction for the future CRAFTS extra-galactic HI survey
15:20 – 15:50 Sihan Jiao The study of inter-arm clouds in M31
15:50 – 16:00
16:00 – 16:40
16:40 – 17:00 Di Li
Chao-Wei Tsai
Forum Summary and Closing Remarks


Abstracts for the presented talks can be found on this page or downloaded in pdf format here.


The posters are hosted on this page and the poster abstracts can be downloaded in pdf format here.


An album from the event is available here.

Prof. Suijian Xue Presenting

Zoom Attendees


How long are the talks?

20 minutes, with 10 minutes for questions afterwards.

How do I submit a poster presentation?

Submit the full poster file for hosting on this website and a one page presentation to the LOC chair.

What format should posters be in?

Please submit posters in a pdf format file of size 100 MB or less. Being virtual, there are no size constraints, but limiting the size to something printable (like fitting within a 111 by 111 cm square) with font size limited to the range 18 and 72 points is good practice.

How does poster presenting work?

During the Forum people presenting posters will have one minute and one presentation slide to introduce their work on the stream. The posters, themselves, will be downloadable from this website. We will set up some interaction sections in the Zoom stream for the poster presenters to interact with the poster presenters during breaks.


Dr. Eswaraiah Chakali (NAOC)
Dr. Long-Fei Chen (NAOC)
Dr. Tao-Chung Ching (NAOC)
Dr. Shi Dai (CSIRO)
Dr. Xinping Deng (ATNF, CSIRO)
Prof. Ran Duan (NAOC)
Ms. Yan Duan (NAOC)
Mr. Yi Feng (NAOC)
Mr. Sihan Jiao (NAOC)
Dr. Marko Krco (NAOC)
Dr. Sean E. Lake (NAOC)
Prof. Qian Lei (NAOC)
Prof. Di Li (NAOC)
Ms. Mengting Liu (NAOC)
Mr. Gan Luo (NAOC)
Mr. Chenchen Miao (NAOC)
Dr. Chenhui Niu (NAOC)
Ms. Jiarui Niu (NAOC)
Prof. Keping Qiu (NJU)
Mr. Lunhua Shang (NAOC)
Dr. Hui Shi (NAOC)
Dr. Jing Tang (NAOC)
Dr. Ningyu Tang (NAOC)
Mr. Zhenzhao Tao (NAOC/GZNU)
Prof. Chao-Wei Tsai (NAOC)
Ms. Bingru Wang (NAOC)
Mr. Hongfeng Wang (CAS KLFAST)
Dr. Pei Wang (NAOC)
Mr. Shen Wang (NAOC)
Mr. Yu Wang (NAOC)
Prof. Jingwen Wu (NAOC)
Ms. Jinjin Xie (NAOC)
Ms. Xuefang Xu (NRAO)
Ms. Mengyao Xue (NAOC/Curtin U)
Prof. Suijian Xue (NAOC)
Mr. Meng Yang (NAOC)
Dr. Jumei Yao (NAOC/XAO)
Dr. Mao Yuan (NAOC)
Ms. Nannan Yue (NAOC)
Ms. Chao Zhang (NAOC)
Mr. Kai Zhang (NAOC)
Ms. Lei Zhang (NAOC)
Prof. Zheng Zheng (NAOC)
Prof. Weiwei Zhu (NAOC)


Chao-Wei Tsai (co-Chair, NAOC)
Di Li (co-Chair, NAOC)
Jingwen Wu (NAOC)
Weiwei Zhu (NAOC)
Ran Duan (NAOC)
Zheng Zheng (NAOC)


Sean Lake (Chair, NAOC)
Chao-Wei Tsai (NAOC)
Hualei Lyu (NAOC)


Sean Lake (
Chao-Wei Tsai (