NAOC/ISM Summer Science Forum 2020

Synergy between FAST and MeerKAT

About the NAOC/ISM Summer Science Forum:

About the NAOC/ISM Summer Science Forum:
The NAOC’s ISM group is pleased to announce the 2020 NAOC/ISM Summer Science Forum, which will bee hold at A408 at the NAOC campus on Friday, August 14 from 9:30 AM to 5:00 PM, Beijing Standard Time. Oral presentations will be given and broadcasted from NAOC. The online e-posters will be presented on the Forum website.

The Forum will allow the ISM group’s postdocs, junior faculty members, selected senior graduate students, and invited speakers to give formal oral presentation about their recent work with focus on the proposal ideas. The speakers are encouraged to include 3-5min discussions in the presentation on the possible MeerKAT proposal ideas related to his/her currecnt research projects. Advanced graduate students will also be presenting e-posters on their research. This forum will be open to the NAOC community and invited outside researchers and scientists to attend.

Due to logistical constraints imposed by COVID-19, the Forum will take place primarily online using Zoom, including both presenters and audience.



All registration deadlines have passed. Look forward to our next forum!


Time Speaker Title Note
09:30 - 09:40 Prof. Di Li Forum Opening Remarks
Morning Oral Presentation Section
(Chair: Dr. Pei Wang)
09:40 - 09:50 Dr. Hui Shi An Introduction to MeerKAT's First Call
09:50 - 10:00
10:00 - 10:30 Dr. Mengyao Xue Probing the ISM towards the Gum Nebula using Pulsar Measurements
10:30 - 11:00 Dr. Jumei Yao Improving Pulsar and FRB Distance Mode
11:00 - 11:30 Dr. Chenhui Niu A New Algorithm to Search Radio Transient
Poster Presentation Section
(Chair: Dr. Jing Tang)
11:30 - 11:40 Dr. Zhiyuan Ren High-sensitivity Observation of the Infrared-dark Clouds
11:40 - 13:00
Lunch Break
Afternoon Oral Presentation Section
(Chair: Prof. Zheng Zheng)
13:00 - 13:30 Dr. Jing Tang Pilot Radio Observations of the Coolest Brown Dwarfs
13:30 - 14:00 Dr. Sean Lake The Quiescent Radio Luminosity Function of Brown Dwarfs: Preliminary Results
14:00 - 14:30 Dr. Tao-Chung Ching Test Magnetic Star Formation Theory at High Angular Resolution
14:30 - 15:00 Dr. Eswaraiah Chakali Importance of Magnetic Fields at Multi-scales and -densities of Star Forming Regions
15:00 - 15:30 Dr. Long-Fei Chen Chemical Variations across the TMC-1 Filament
15:30 - 16:50
16:50 - 17:00 Prof. Di Li
Prof. Chao-Wei Tsai
Forum Summary and Closing Remarks




How long are the talks?

20-25 minutes, with 5-10 minutes for questions afterwards.

How do I submit a poster presentation?

Submit the full poster file for hosting on this website and a one page presentation to the LOC chair.

What format should posters be in?

Please submit posters in a pdf format file of size 100 MB or less. Being virtual, there are no size constraints, but limiting the size to something printable (like fitting within a 111 by 111 cm square) with font size limited to the range 18 and 72 points is good practice.

How does poster presenting work?

During the Forum people presenting posters will have one minute and one presentation slide to introduce their work on the stream. The posters, themselves, will be downloadable from this website. We will set up some interaction sections in the Zoom stream for the poster presenters to interact with the poster presenters during breaks.


Dr. Eswaraiah Chakali (NAOC)
Dr. Long-Fei Chen (NAOC)
Dr. Tao-Chung Ching (NAOC)
Prof. Ran Duan (NAOC)
Mr. Yi Feng (NAOC)
Mr. Sihan Jiao (NAOC)
Dr. Sean Lake (NAOC)
Mr. Cuihuan Lee (NAOC)
Mr. Guodong Li (NAOC)
Prof. Di Li (NAOC)
Dr. Xue Mengyao (NAOC)
Dr. Chenhui Niu (NAOC)
Ms. Jiarui Niu (NAOC)
Prof. Lei Qian (NAOC)
Dr. Zhiyuan Ren (NAOC)
Ms. Mengping Shen (NAOC)
Dr. Jing Tang (NAOC)
Prof. Chao-Wei Tsai (NAOC)
Ms. Bingru Wang (NAOC)
Prof. Jingwen Wu (NAOC)
Mr. Jifeng Xia (NAOC)
Ms. Jinjin Xie (NAOC)
Ms. Cai Xiuyu (NAOC)
Mr. Meng Yang (NAOC)
Dr. Jumei Yao (NAOC)
Ms. Yinghui Zheng (NAOC)


Chao-Wei Tsai (co-Chair, NAOC)
Di Li (co-Chair, NAOC)
Jingwen Wu (NAOC)
Weiwei Zhu (NAOC)
Ran Duan (NAOC)
Zheng Zheng (NAOC)


Tao-Chung Ching (Chair, NAOC)
Chao-Wei Tsai (NAOC)
Hualei Lyu (NAOC)
Chenchen Miao (NAOC)


Tao-Chung Ching (
Chao-Wei Tsai (